House of Brides

The House of Brides by Jane Cockram was a fun modern-day gothic novel in the tradition that I love: A young woman grows up with a mother who is estranged from her family, after her mother's death she goes to the family's creepy estate to try to meet her mother's family and figure out why... Continue Reading →

Bringing Down the Duke

Bringing Down the Duke by Evie Dunmore is a Victorian romance that is getting a lot of buzz right now. The premise of the story is about Annabelle, a former vicar's daughter who is unmarried and in her twenties and is relegated to the role of servant in the home of her cousin. She earns... Continue Reading →

Tidelands

The book that I have been most looking forward to reading this year is Tidelands by Philippa Gregory. While Gregory has quite a reputation for her historical fiction about royalty, my favorite has long been The Lady of the Rivers, who is just the mother of a queen. I was hoping Tidelands would be more... Continue Reading →

The Winemaker’s Wife

The Winemaker's Wife by Kristin Harmel is an historical fiction novel and a dual timeline novel (which is my favorite thing). The story follows three women, two during World War II who live and work at a vineyard because both of their husbands are involved in winemaking. And one woman in 2019 who is dealing... Continue Reading →

State of Lies

State of Lies by Siri Mitchell is a departure from her previous novels, which are mostly historical, with a few contemporary early novels. With State of Lies, Mitchell moves into a new genre of political suspense. The story begins with a Washington D.C. couple, who both work in or for the government. They have one... Continue Reading →

The Book Charmer

The Book Charmer by Karen Hawkins was a very sweet novel about small town life, a librarian who can hear books talk, and a woman in the "sandwich generation" trying to balance caring for her mother with dementia and her suddenly motherless niece, after the death of her sister. Since this book featured a librarian... Continue Reading →

The Phantom Tree by Nicola Cornick

The Phantom Tree by Nicola Cornick is dual timeline novel set in both the modern age and the Tudor Era, specifically the reign of Queen Elizabeth I. Fans of both Susanna Kearsley and Philippa Gregory will enjoy this novel, because it has a similar feel to their book, particularly Gregory's The Lady of the Rivers... Continue Reading →

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑